I’m From Barcelona

https://i1.wp.com/dujour.tavfiavo.com/art/barcelona.jpg

Let Me Introduce My Friends

Mute

Let Me Introduce My Friends hits the ground running, not walking, with its twenty-eight members daring to chew bubblegum at the same time. While I’m From Barcelona cheer me up with every beat of each tune, I picture Barcelona leader Emanuel Lundgren leading his band of merry friends across the countryside putting a smile on everyone’s face along the way.  “Oversleeping” starts things off bubbling with xylophone, computer beeps, and a slinky guitar line that leads into a narrative on the challenges of running late while the drums do their best to drive our hero to work swiftly.  “Jenny” opens with a whimsical 70’s folk trumpet line and continues with Lundgren singing to us about a trip he’s taking us on.  We become Jenny in this play between songwriter and listener and Lundgren sure does win us over.   “Chicken Pox” makes a cute metaphor between heartbreak and childhood diseases reassuring that “You can’t have it once you’ve had it.”  The album continues with a the true chamer, “This Boy.” It refrains “All the voices in my head and the people I meet, they’re all trying so hard to make a man out of me.”  It continues out of the chorus, “But there’s always gonna be this little boy inside of me.”  It’s these sentiments that put the charm and depth inside these infectious melodies that could easily take the path of mere unadulterated fun. This record brims with good vibes, tuneful hooks, spirited chants, rich instrumentation, and enough heart and mind to convince us that their adventure is well worth our while.  I’ve been meaning to go to Barcelona for some time now.  I hope I have as much fun as I do listening to Let Me Introduce My Friends.

Originally published in Impose Magazine.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

